Dudley Sherman Award Winners

The Dudley Sherman Award is bestowed upon MPELRA members who have made exemplary contributions to public sector labor relations and the Michigan Public Employer Labor Relations Association.

The MPELRA Bylaws provide that “A Committee shall be established annually to consider candidates for the Dudley Sherman Award. The Committee shall consist of five (5) individuals, including the current President, who shall appoint the remaining four (4) members of the Committee from past Presidents and previous award recipients.

  • 1982 Dudley Sherman
  • 1983 Edward D. Callaghan
  • 1984 Eugene F. Berrodin
  • 1985 Arthur A. Mitchell
  • 1988 Joseph W. Fremont
  • 1989 Michael Benedict
  • 1990 Harry J. Konschuh
  • 1993 Susan Zurvalec
  • 1996 Tony Skowronski
  • 1997 Ruthanne Okun
  • 2002 Cathy Brechtelsbauer, Joe Lybik
  • 2003 Jack Lewis, Steve Stratton
  • 2009 David Benda, Mary Kohls, Barbara Wise-Johnson
  • 2010 Dennis B. Dubay
  • 2012 Dana Whinnery
  • 2013 Peggy Kohls
  • 2016 James Nash
  • 2017 Mari Beth Jelks
  • 2018 Russell Claggett

Powered By JCN

  • Due to the coronavirus pandemic and for the safety of our members, in-person meeting have been canceled until further notice.
  • The 2021 Virtual Training Program is a great way to stay informed on current topics! See the 'meetings' page for more information.